

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

January 12, 2015

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday January 12, 2015 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President John Mandl.

The Oath of Office was taken by all board members.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Wendy Benson, Bret Burtwistle, John Mandl, Shad Pohlman, Kirk Van Pelt and Lisa Wilke. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, David Cunningham, Kim Hoehne and three guests.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present. President John Mandl announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Lisa Wilke to declare the meeting open and properly posted by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Bret Burtwistle nominated John Mandl for President. Motion was made by Lisa Wilke, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt that nominations for the office of President cease and John Mandl be unanimously elected President. Ayes: Bret Burtwistle, Shad Pohlman, Wendy Benson, Lisa Wilke, and Kirk Van Pelt. Abstain: John Mandl. MC.

Lisa Wilke nominated Bret Burtwistle for Vice-President; Bret Burtwistle nominated Lisa Wilke for Vice-President. Motion was made by Kirk Van Pelt seconded by John Mandl that nominations for the office of Vice-President cease. AMPVF-MC. Ballots were counted. Lisa Wilke was elected Vice-President.

Motion was made by Lisa Wilke, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to appoint Dr. Michael J. Sieh as Secretary. AMPVF-MC.

Lisa Wilke nominated Shad Pohlman for Honorary Secretary. Bret Burtwistle moved and Kirk Van Pelt seconded that nominations for the office of Honorary Secretary cease and Shad Pohlman be

unanimously elected Honorary Secretary. Ayes: Bret Burtwistle, John Mandl, Wendy Benson, Lisa Wilke, and Kirk Van Pelt. Abstain: Shad Pohlman. MC.

John Mandl nominated Bret Burtwistle for Treasurer. Motion was made by Shad Pohlman, seconded by Lisa Wilke that nominations for the office of Treasurer cease and Bret Burtwistle be unanimously elected Treasurer. Ayes: John Mandl, Shad Pohlman, Wendy Benson, Lisa Wilke, and Kirk Van Pelt. Abstain: Bret Burtwistle. MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the December 8, 2014 regular board meeting were approved and accepted by the Secretary.

A public forum was held. Guests were welcomed. A thank you was read.

Elementary Principal reported on a plan to promote the Stanton Community Schools and state writing dates.

Secondary Principal David Cunningham gave the annual personnel comprehensive report and reported on the recognition of NSAA Academic All-State students.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the heating & air project, library carpet bids, audit follow up, negotiations update, monthly bills, superintendent's evaluation form, upcoming workshops, board retreat, appointment of NASB government relation representative, and recognition of former board members service.

Motion was made by Shad Pohlman, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to approve the personnel school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Wendy Benson recognize Shayla Mandl & Braska Patterson, Girls' Cross Country; Trenton Cadwallader & Trevor Doffin, Boys' Cross Country; Hiliary Huss & Ariel Zach, Volleyball; Grant King & Mitchael Sieh, Football; and Shayla Mandl & Journee Trimble, Play Production for Academic All-State Awards. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Kirk Van Pelt, seconded by Lisa Wilke to accept the library carpet bid from Flooring Solutions in the amount of \$10,140.00. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to approve the Teachers' Negotiated Agreement with a 2015-2016 base salary of \$33,450.00 and 2016-2017 base salary of \$34,400.00. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to appoint John Mandl as the district's government relations network representative. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Shad Pohlman to recognize Dean Quinn and Rod Zoubek for "8 Years of Service" to the Stanton Community School's Board of Education. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Wendy Benson to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the

Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 8:10 p.m..

The next regular monthly meeting will be February 9, 2015 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 13th of January, 2015. Signed:

(Pub. January 21, 2015)

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749