

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

January 11, 2016

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday January 11, 2016 at 7:01 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by Vice-President Lisa Wilke.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Wendy Benson, Bret Burtwistle, Shad Pohlman, Kirk Van Pelt and Lisa Wilke. Absent: John Mandl. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, David Cunningham, and Kim Hoehne.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present. Vice-President Lisa Wilke announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Wendy Benson to declare the meeting open and properly posted by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Shad Pohlman to excuse John Mandl from the January 11, 2016 board of education meeting due to family circumstances. AMPVF-MC.

Bret Burtwistle nominated John Mandl for President. Motion was made by Shad Pohlman, seconded by Bret Burtwistle that nominations for the office of President cease and John Mandl be unanimously elected President. AMPVF-MC.

Bret Burtwistle nominated Lisa Wilke for Vice-President. Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle seconded by Shad Pohlman that nominations for the office of Vice-President cease and Lisa Wilke be unanimously elected Vice-President. Ayes: Bret Burtwistle, Shad Pohlman, Wendy Benson, and Kirk Van Pelt. Abstain: Lisa Wilke. MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Wendy Benson to appoint Dr. Michael J. Sieh as Secretary. AMPVF-MC.

Lisa Wilke nominated Shad Pohlman for Honorary Secretary. Lisa Wilke moved and Wendy Benson seconded that nominations for the office of Honorary Secretary cease and Shad Pohlman be

unanimously elected Honorary Secretary. Ayes: Bret Burtwistle, Wendy Benson, Lisa Wilke, and Kirk Van Pelt. Abstain: Shad Pohlman. MC.

Shad Pohlman nominated Bret Burtwistle for Treasurer. Motion was made by Lisa Wilke, seconded by Shad Pohlman that nominations for the office of Treasurer cease and Bret Burtwistle be unanimously elected Treasurer. Ayes: Shad Pohlman, Wendy Benson, Lisa Wilke, and Kirk Van Pelt. Abstain: Bret Burtwistle. MC.

Motion was made by Kirk Van Pelt, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the December 14, 2015 regular board meeting were approved and accepted by the Secretary.

A public forum was held. Guests were welcomed.

Elementary Principal reported on the elementary video for the web page and state writing test dates.

Secondary Principal David Cunningham gave the annual personnel comprehensive report; and reported on a staff resignation, recognition of All-State Athletes, recognition of State FFA qualifier, and the Nebraska Schools Activity Association transgender proposed bylaws.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the request for proposal for a facility study by an architect, monthly bills, superintendent evaluation form changes, upcoming workshops, board retreat, and appointment of NASB government relation representative.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to approve the personnel school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made Shad Pohlman, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to accept the resignation of Latrice Stark with regrets. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Kirk Van Pelt, seconded by Wendy Benson to recognize Hilary Huss for being selected to the Class C2 All-State Volleyball Team by the Omaha World Herald and Lincoln Star, and Blake Huisman for being selected to the Class C2 All-State Football Team by the Omaha World Herald and Lincoln Star, AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Wendy Benson, seconded by Shad Pohlman to recognize Kyle Wylie for qualifying for the State FFA land judging competition. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Wendy Benson to authorize and direct the Superintendent of Schools, or other designee, to issue requests for proposals, or other similar request documents, to qualified architectural firms for purposes of obtaining architect services for a proposed facilities study of existing school district facilities. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Shad Pohlman to appoint John Mandl as the district's government relations network representative. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Wendy Benson to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

The next regular monthly meeting will be February 8, 2016 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library. The annual Board retreat will be February 3, 2016 at 6:00 p.m. at Prenger's, Norfolk, Nebraska.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 8:04 p.m.

Dated this 12th of January, 2016. Signed:

(Pub. January 20, 2016)

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749